QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH METHODS WORKSHOP

The Quantitative Research Methods Workshop features cutting-edge research engaged in developing and employing quantitative methods in the social sciences. The workshop hosts prominent and up-and-coming scholars in a variety of disciplines, who present work on a range of topics including experimental design, causal identification in observational studies, text analysis, and election forensics. The series is being sponsored by the ISPS Center for the Study of American Politics and The Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale with support from the Edward J. and Dorothy Clarke Kempf Fund.

2022-2023 Workshop Schedule

DATE	SPEAKER/TITLE
SEP 22	Andrew Eggers, Professor of Political Science, University of Chicago "Placebo Tests for Causal Inference"
OCT 27	Molly Offer-Westort, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Chicago "Adaptive experimental designs for policy learning and evaluation, with applications to Facebook Messenger studies"
NOV 10	Yiqing Xu, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Stanford University "What to Do (and Not to Do) with Causal Panel Analysis: Parallel Trends, Heterogeneous Treatment Effects, and Diagnostics"
DEC 8	Tara Slough , Assistant Professor of Politics, New York University Scott Tyson , Assoc. Professor of Quantitative Theory and Methods, Emory University "Sign-congruence, External Validity, and Replication"
FEB 9	Cyrus Samii, Associate Professor of Politics, New York University "Can Communities Take Charge? A Randomized Controlled Trial on Sustaining Schools in Afghanistan" Joint workshop with the Leitner Political Economy Seminar
MAR 2	Thomas Pepinsky, the Walter F. LaFeber Professor of Government, Cornell University "A Political Economy of Social Categories" Joint workshop with the Leitner Political Economy Seminar
MAR 9	Gregory J. Martin, Associate Professor of Political Economy, Stanford GSB "Media Consolidation" Joint workshop with the Leitner Political Economy Seminar

Faculty organizers: P. Aronow and Fredrik Sävje